ISSN (Print) - 0012-9976 | ISSN (Online) - 2349-8846

Articles by Annpurna NautiyalSubscribe to Annpurna Nautiyal

Uttarakhand 2012: Who Gained, Who Lost?

The 2012 assembly elections not only saw a totally fractured mandate in Uttarakhand but also the historic defeat of the Bharatiya Janata Party Chief Minister B C Khanduri. Even as delimitation shifted more seats to the Plains compared to the Hills, caste politics, intra-party rivalries, poor choice of candidates and internal sabotaging meant that neither national party emerged as a clear winner or loser in the process.

Uttarakhand: Congress Outperforms Its Opponents

The easy win for the Congress in the 15th Lok Sabha elections in Uttarakhand was made possible by the voters' positive opinion of the Congress-led coalition in the centre. This, combined with the fact that voters rated the previous Congress government in the state better than the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party regime, helped the former achieve a clean sweep at the polls.

Back to Top